18.—Legislatures and Premiers of Quebec, 1935-54, the Ministry and Members of the Legislative Council as at Mar. 31, 1954—concluded

Legislative Council

(According	to	seniority)

Name	Division	Date of Appointment		
P. R. DU TREMBLAY. R. O. GROTHÉ. ELISÉE TIÉRIAULT. LACOB NICOL. VICTOR MARCHAND. GUERAVE LEMIBUX. HECTOR LAFERTÉ. EMILE MORGAU. J. L. BARBEAU (Speaker). PHILIPFE BAIS. JULES BRILLANT. FEANK L. CONNORS. ROBERT R. NESS. WILPRID BOVEY. FÉLIM MESSIER. EDOUARD ASSELIN. Génad. MARTINEAU J. OLER ENNAUD. J. CLER ENNAUD. J. T. LAROCHELLE. PATRICE TARDIP. JOSEPH BOULANGER.	Kennebec. Bedford Rigaud Montarville. Stadacona. Lauzon. De Lorimier. Shawinigan. Grandville. Golfe Mille Isles. Inkerman. Rougemont. De Lanaudière. Wellington. Victoria. Las Laurentides. Alma La Salle. De la Vallière. De la Vallière.	Apr. Sept. Apr. Dec. July June Aug. Jan. Jan. Jan. Jan. Feb. Jan. Feb. Jan. Aug. Aug. Aug. Dec. July Oct.	23, 16, 15, 2, 36, 14, 14, 14, 12, 23, 22, 22, 22, 22, 28, 8, 8, 16, 14, 14, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12, 12	$\begin{array}{r} 1929\\ 1929\\ 1932\\ 1932\\ 1932\\ 1934\\ 1935\\ 1936\\ 1938\\ 1940\\ 1942\\ 1942\\ 1942\\ 1942\\ 1942\\ 1942\\ 1946\\ 1946\\ 1946\\ 1946\\ 1946\\ 1948\\ 1952\\ 1952 \end{array}$

Subsection 6.—Ontario

The Government of Ontario consists of the Lieutenant-Governor, the Executive Council and the House of Assembly. The Honourable Louis O. Breithaupt, LL.D., the present Lieutenant-Governor of the Province, was commissioned to office Jan. 24, 1952. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 92.

The House of Assembly, the single-chamber Legislature of the Province, is composed of 90 members elected for a statutory term of five years on an adultsuffrage basis.

Besides the regular departments of government, the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, the Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board and the Liquor Licence Board have been created.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Act (R.S.O. 1950, c. 202, as amended 1952, c. 51), each Member of the Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$2,600 and an allowance for expenses of \$1,300. In addition, the Speaker receives a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$3,000 and an expense allowance of \$2,000; the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$1,000; and the Leader of the Opposition a special indemnity of \$3,000 and an annual allowance of \$2,000 for expenses. Each Member of the Cabinet receives the ordinary indemnity as a Member of the Legislature of \$2,600 plus the \$1,300expense allowance in addition to his salary as a Minister of the Crown. The salary provided in the Executive Council Act for the Premier is \$14,000 and for a Cabinet Minister \$10,000.